farming / Holiday

Cuteness From A Dry Land

This year I celebrated Easter by getting three different kinds of milk all over myself (goat, cow, and predigested human. Yes, I just said “predigested human”. AKA spit up.) And then I threw in some baby cow poop just for fun. And some sugared up children and a sick baby. It was AWESOME. Really, it’s not sarcasm you hear dripping from my voice right now, it’s probably more sticky, stinky milk.

These are some pics from around our place: Mittens, Cloud the calf, Olive and Elf, a cool looking lizard, my garden, etc. If you don’t have to deal with the reality of bottle feeding and nursing and shit on your boots 24/7, it’s pretty freakin cute around here these days.

DSCN1723 DSCN1781 DSCN1848 DSCN1790 DSCN1770 DSCN1696
Happy Easter!

11 thoughts on “Cuteness From A Dry Land

  1. Yeah, I have half a mind to drive down there right now. Dad wants me to wait til Memorial day, but I don’t think I’m going to make it. Love you!!!

  2. I thought the same thing about the calf being really skinny. Glad to hear it is normal. She is so cute. I love her name, it is fitting. She kind of looks like Bambi too. Your garden looks great. Mine is so pathetic. I went out two weeks ago and started digging up the beds and then I got sick and two weeks later I’m still not strong enough to get back out there. This is going to be the latest garden I have ever planted. Does the straw not have seed in it? I have always worried that mulching with straw will actually add weeds to my garden. Maxine looks so small next to the cat.

  3. The grass looks so green and lush around cloud. Our grass is still somewhat stubbly an d brown. You garden is well underway! I’ve never heard of rice straw! Is it popular our your way? Surely, one does not simply walk to Mordor to get rice flour! Please do post back later with followup on it.

    • AH yes, rice straw is a CA thing. There is a lot of rice grown in the Sacramento area, and that’s where it comes from. It might be hard to find in other states. It is popular I think because it is very absorbent, and usually any seed left in it will not grow because rice needs much wetter conditions than most gardens can handle (i.e. a large puddle!).

      Sadly, the grass in the pic is only foxtail, which has gone to seed and is now yellow. And the only reason it was ever green was because we watered it.

  4. Hi Melissa, I did not know that you had posted anything since you did the one on the snake. Great pictures. And your garden looks wonderful. what are planted in the rows. It looks like perhaps beans?

  5. I meant to say that the straw we used to sit on at our wedding anniversary party only gave us a few weeds. But I will have to look for some rice straw here.

Leave a Reply

