farming

Panoche–“You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

We’ve had multiple people comment on the name of the valley we live in–folks, that dirty slang word you’re thinking of is “panocha”, not Panoche. . . although the root may be the same.

Here are some views of the valley from our little pink house:001 007 018 029

 

I don’t have any photos of the house yet, but it’s pretty cute, and I think our pine tree may be the tallest thing in the valley.

It’s kind of like a small slice of Montana and Wyoming hidden away in CA–unconventional and beautiful in a rugged and clear sort of way. At night Panoche is silent, except for the hum of the dairy and the occasional coyote or owl, or the sound of the wind. The stars are thick and bright on a clear night, the moon when it is full is like a spotlight. The horses next door, out on a hundred acres of bone-dry pasture, once in a while go for a gallop and sound like a charging cavalry against the quiet. You can hear a crow flying over, each wing beat distinct and surprising.

And here is the first baby born in the Panoche valley in probably a hundred years or more:
024
Aint she pretty? Delivered at home by mommy and daddy after 4 hours of not-too-bad labor, fortuitously with grandma and grandpa there to watch Mol and Chub.

Ok, more another time. Said infant is now sleeping and that means Bedtime for me.

5 thoughts on “Panoche–“You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

  1. Beautiful! So glad to see you back in communication! I’m looking forward to seeing you all again and this time I won’t be sick. Maxine is so beautiful.

  2. I found two definitions of Panoche: 1) a course grade of Mexican sugar and 2), well it’s in the urban dictionary and I’m not going to say it. It’s a course grade of Mexican sugar….. period.

  3. Hellooooooo, do sounds echo there in that area at all?
    Hope to see the newest member of the Tregilgas fam soon. She looks like she might have Spencer’s eyes. Guess I’ll find out when I see her with them open. None the less, she is another work of art.
    You two are the bravest couple I know. Crossing the grand US expanse and settling in a remote area, not to mention birthing your own baby at home. I presume it was a water birth. Love and hugs to all this blessed season.

  4. It’s so wonderful to “hear” from you. I found myself taking deep breaths as I eye-grazed the landscape pics. I wanted to crawl into pic #2 and walk around in boots. I love the pic of Maxine!! She looks so content. 😉

    For whatever its worth, I love reading about your adventures and mishaps, success and frustrations, basically your lives as they unfold. Thank you for sharing this part of yourselves. My heart leaps I see a new post is available. Wishing you continual blessings.

Leave a Reply

