Uncategorized

Roger Fenton and Roman Horses

Whenever I am feeling totally uninspired visually, I look at these photos of soldiers and generals from the Crimean war, taken by Roger Fenton. For some reason the bold black outlines and the brightness of the white are just what I need to feel like making pictures myself. And horses. I threw in a Roman frieze too because I have always admired their horses. Roman people (that is in Roman art) are sort of stiff and angry looking, but the horses are very majestic and it’s ok for them to look angry anyway–they’re horses and I imagine they were never very happy with those damn Romans. Circuses, races, all that rot. A horse wants companionship and open pasture, not gladiators and victory. I suppose I feel about the same myself.

Leave a Reply

